what is the highest mathematics course you completed (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 27, 2024, 09:16:14 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Forum Community
  Off-topic Board (Moderators: The Dowager Mod, The Mikado, YE)
  what is the highest mathematics course you completed (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Poll
Question: ....
never made it to calculus

calculus 1

calculus 2

calculus 3

ordinary differential equations

linear algebra

above and beyond....

Show Pie Chart
Partisan results

Total Voters: 51

Author Topic: what is the highest mathematics course you completed  (Read 2918 times)
muon2
Moderators
Atlas Icon

« on: March 10, 2013, 11:04:11 PM »

I was an undergraduate math major so "above and beyond" counts for me. Abstract algebra and topology were two of my favorites.
muon2
Moderators
Atlas Icon

« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 01:20:40 AM »

The higher, the more useless. Chinese students are good at math, yet they do badly in creating.

I had a Chinese student 10 years ago who fit this statement. The problem was not in math but in the lack of the ability to create a problem worth solving. Research in math and science requires one to define a problem, work on a solution, and along the way ask critical questions about the problem that may lead to new problems. My student was working on a thesis that involved a lot of applied math, but after we agreed on an initial question, I found that he would solve the simplest aspect of the problem, but not see the new directions that initial problem led. I had to continually prod him towards each step in his thesis. In contrast I found that my American students were more likely to see the new problems in each solution and they needed far less prodding to follow leads that an initial solution generate.