What took place in Mexico 1988
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 27, 2024, 03:48:12 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  International General Discussion (Moderators: afleitch, Hash)
  What took place in Mexico 1988
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: What took place in Mexico 1988  (Read 1114 times)
jaichind
Atlas Star
United States

Political Matrix
E: 9.03, S: -5.39

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: June 25, 2015, 01:49:23 PM »

Because of the recent midterm elections I have been reading about Mexico more recently and I wanted to ask a question I have been asking myself on and off for a couple of decades with respect to the 1988 Mexico elections.  The CW is that the PRI stole the election from then PRI rebel Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas after early results (mostly from DF) came in against PRI and then "the system shut down."   The PRI went on to win with around 51% of the vote.   

No doubt the PRI were up to all sort of stuff during this election.  The PRI president at the time, Miguel de la Madrid, pretty much said in his memoirs that there were various "activities" to make sure PRI won.    On the flip side there were many facts about this election and the elections afterward which does not totally jive with this story.