Psssst...Wanna' see a letter from a teacher?
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 24, 2024, 06:07:54 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Individual Politics (Moderator: The Dowager Mod)
  Psssst...Wanna' see a letter from a teacher?
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Psssst...Wanna' see a letter from a teacher?  (Read 622 times)
Bono
Atlas Icon
United Kingdom

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: May 16, 2005, 02:26:30 PM »

http://www.honestedu.org/edlib/v2n5/teachlet.php

Marshall Fritz
Separation of School & State Alliance
Fresno, CA

Dear Mr. Fritz,

I teach health education for grades first through sixth at XXXXXX School in XXXXXXXXX. I have been a public school teacher for the past 16 years. I am now sending in my signed Proclamation and respectfully request that I join the other "School Sakharovs."*

Ten years ago I decided it was time to tell the education establishment that something was dreadfully wrong. But when I approached the powers that be, I was merely dismissed.

When I approached my colleagues, the same ones who complained about "the system," they politely listened, then tossed me aside as too radical. After all, they would say, eliminate the public schools and what would we do for jobs?

I decided that the way to initiate reform was to get on decision making committees. But to my dismay, the majority of curriculum decisions were already made, or the choices offered were either worthless or ridiculous. There was no opportunity for intelligent dialogue, no room for opposing points of view.

I knew I couldn't do it alone, so I became active in my local union. But I soon learned that teachers'unions have nothing to do with education.