Boer War
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 25, 2024, 11:08:40 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Discussion
  History (Moderator: Southern Senator North Carolina Yankee)
  Boer War
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Boer War  (Read 648 times)
MASHED POTATOES. VOTE!
Kalwejt
Atlas Institution

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: March 11, 2017, 07:01:38 AM »

I'm not an expert on this particular historical field, but I've been wondering recently if, in the long run, it wouldn't be better to leave those small Boer Transvaal and Orange Free State Republics alone. We know what happened next, incorporation into one South Africa and subsequent Boer-led Apartheid. Wouldn't it be better to have these two majority-Boer state existing?
Cassius
YaBB God

« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2017, 08:46:51 AM »

I'm not a great expert, but I think you're overemphasising the role of the 'Boers' in creating apartheid - neither DF Malan (the first apartheid Prime Minister) nor Hendrik Verwoerd was a Boer, and much postwar leadership cadre of the National Party had been educated at Stellenbosch University, which had a reputation for extremely strong Afrikaner nationalism (applying that term in the sense of all white Afrikaans speakers as opposed to merely Cape Afrikaners like Malan), which was (is) located in the Western Cape. Maybe if the Orange Free State and the Transvaal Republic had been left independent then Cape Colony and Natal would have evolved in a more 'Rhodesiaesque' direction, due to the proportionally greater influence of English speakers (who were hardly saints when it came to racial matters, as I'm sure you're aware) than in the Union of South Africa, but that's really water under the bridge.
CatoMinor
Junior Chimp
United States

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2017, 11:49:50 AM »