50 days to see a doctor in Boston…Is universal coverage the cause? (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 28, 2024, 07:06:34 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Economics (Moderator: Torie)
  50 days to see a doctor in Boston…Is universal coverage the cause? (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 50 days to see a doctor in Boston…Is universal coverage the cause?  (Read 5755 times)
opebo
Atlas Legend

« on: June 14, 2009, 01:52:01 PM »

No.

As you know I'm a UK resident. I felt unwell last night so I wanted to see a doctor and I did at 11am the next morning after booking an appointment at 8.30 am. Cost me nothing, bar a $6.50 flat fee for a prescription afterwards.

So many people knock such a system without knowing the slightest thing about it.

Oh no, they know everything they need to know about it - it reduces the massive income of the health care mafia, and it wastes resources on sick poors.  Believe me, they don't knock it because they actually fear the mythical 'doctor wait', which is obviously an absurd canard.
opebo
Atlas Legend

« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 11:41:27 AM »

The raw ideology on this board is mind boggling.

What ideology?  Its simple reason - those of us who don't have health insurance can never see a doctor.  The wait is forever.  So, the wait would be less long under socialized medicine.

The facts are that wait times are not just a little longer but significantly longer in Britain than in the US and survival rates for cancer patients are much lower.  That anyone would deny this at this stage suggests a total immunity to evidence.

'Facts'?  You mean facts are what some fascist asshole claims on a message board?  Your claims are obviously utter nonsense, Ford.