50 days to see a doctor in Boston…Is universal coverage the cause? (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 28, 2024, 02:37:46 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Economics (Moderator: Torie)
  50 days to see a doctor in Boston…Is universal coverage the cause? (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 50 days to see a doctor in Boston…Is universal coverage the cause?  (Read 5750 times)
Sbane
sbane
Atlas Icon

« on: June 16, 2009, 03:00:01 PM »

No.

As you know I'm a UK resident. I felt unwell last night so I wanted to see a doctor and I did at 11am the next morning after booking an appointment at 8.30 am. Cost me nothing, bar a $6.50 flat fee for a prescription afterwards.

So many people knock such a system without knowing the slightest thing about it.

Anecdotal evidence is awesome!

Just try not to get cancer in Scotland.

At least he would get treated in Scotland. Here he would have to fight tooth and nail with his insurance company to get any treatment at all. Even then if he wanted the latest treatment he would have to pay tens of thousands out of his own pocket. America's health care system is the best in the world for the elite (and by elite I mean someone making millions) but not so great for the rest of us. I would much prefer a system like Europe where I won't have to spend my dying days haggling with my insurance company.
Sbane
sbane
Atlas Icon

« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2009, 05:24:30 PM »

The raw ideology on this board is mind boggling.

The facts are that wait times are not just a little longer but significantly longer in Britain than in the US and survival rates for cancer patients are much lower.  That anyone would deny this at this stage suggests a total immunity to evidence.
Cite?
Sbane
sbane
Atlas Icon

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 12:46:06 PM »