Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Vice Presidential
Popular VoteElectoral Vote
Barack H. ObamaJoseph R. Biden, Jr.Democratic 1,374,039 49.84%11
John S. McCain, IIISarah PalinRepublican 1,345,648 48.81%0
Bob BarrWayne A. RootLibertarian 29,257 1.06%0
YOther (+) - - 7,714 0.28%0
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartState Seal
Maps2008 Indiana County Map of General Election Results for President
County Button
2000 Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Swing Map Button
Trend Map Button
Election Notes:
  • Official Results do not count any write-in votes for candidates that did not register for qualified write-in status. Officially registered write-in votes as follows: Michael Faith: 12, Lawson Bone: 2, Darrell Castle: 51, Kevin Mottus: 9, John Plemons: 1, Lou Kujawski: 1. The write-ins votes listed here were collected from each county official report (incomplete data).
Demographic Data

2010 Population:6,483,802Enum.2010 Population Density:69.8persons/km2
2008 Population:6,424,806Est.2008 Population Density:69.2persons/km2
2000 Population:6,080,485Enum.2000 Population Density:65.5persons/km2
Total Electoral Vote:11Electoral Vote Density:584,073persons/EV
Land Area (2000):92,895km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.6%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Indiana Secretary of State. Indiana General Election November 4, 2008 Office President, Indiana Secretary of State ( ) (accessed 02 Dec 2008)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
Primary Documentation:
The 2008 Campaign: