Trade War+Speculative Bubble=?
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2024, 05:00:07 AM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  Economics (Moderator: Torie)
  Trade War+Speculative Bubble=?
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Trade War+Speculative Bubble=?  (Read 862 times)
Thunderbird is the word
Zen Lunatic

Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: December 05, 2016, 04:44:57 PM »

I'm not really an expert on economics but i'm curious; if there is another speculative bubble that bursts combined with Trump's instigating a trade war what would the economic ramifications be? Possibly a recession which made the 2008 one look minor or would the two things cancel each other out?
Pericles
Atlas Icon

« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2016, 05:48:26 PM »

It's bad.
Thunderbird is the word
Zen Lunatic

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2016, 06:43:04 PM »

Thanks, curious though and anybody can answer this; if there was a trade war with high tariffs introduced would it cause temporary pain while possibly leading to an increase in manufacturing long-term if it was permanent and reshaped the economy in such a way that it was more expensive for companies to relocate? My thought is that it wouldn't necessarily lead to an increase in jobs in the current economy but maybe more automated ones.
ag
Atlas Icon

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2016, 07:37:10 PM »
« Edited: December 06, 2016, 09:45:14 PM by ag »