North Korea Mega Thread (user search)
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 27, 2024, 08:54:03 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  General Politics
  U.S. General Discussion (Moderators: The Dowager Mod, Chancellor Tanterterg)
  North Korea Mega Thread (search mode)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: North Korea Mega Thread  (Read 78438 times)
AN63093

Political Matrix
E: 0.06, S: 2.17

« on: August 05, 2017, 10:32:27 PM »
« edited: August 05, 2017, 10:39:55 PM by AN63093 »

Glad to see these threads are now consolidated.. it was getting a little annoying trying to follow all the respective NK threads out there.  Also, VirginiaModerate, I've been enjoying reading your contributions to this subject.  I'm also a veteran, Army not Navy, and my branch/MOS was.. shall we say, very much support, and quite a bit far from the operational side of things.  So my perspective might be a bit more academic/ivory tower-ish than yours on this subject, but nonetheless, here's my take on things.  By the way, I've never been on exercises in Korea, though I've always wanted to be stationed there.  I've got lots of former 2ID, 8th Army buddies... would've loved to have been in Yongsan.  Camp Casey... eh.. not so much.  Then again, I got my OCONUS tour before I ETSd, a real hardship one in Germany, so I'm not complaining. Smiley

Anyways, while tensions are at the highest they've been in some time on the peninsula, I think people are being a little dramatic about it.  I see what is happening as an advanced form of saber-rattling, but that's about it.  Reason being, and this is not anything that anyone ever admits out in public, but it's actually sorta in everyone's interest to maintain the status quo and not disturb the current geo-political situation.