What about the red?
       |           

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 27, 2024, 11:08:58 PM
News: Election Simulator 2.0 Released. Senate/Gubernatorial maps, proportional electoral votes, and more - Read more

Talk Elections
  Forum Community
  Off-topic Board (Moderators: The Dowager Mod, The Mikado, YE)
  What about the red?
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: What about the red?  (Read 149 times)
v0031
China
WWW Show only this user's posts in this thread
« on: January 23, 2019, 09:01:52 PM »

I work as a volunteer(志愿者)for an organization that helps the poor in Haiti. Recently I took my son Barrett there for a week, hoping to    1  him.
    2    setting out, I told Barrett this trip would be tiring and  rough. For the first two days, he said almost nothing. I worried the trip was too    3   for a 17-year-old. Then on the third day, as we were    4    over high rocky mountains, he turned to me and grinned(咧嘴笑),“Pretty hard.”
    After that there was no turning back. A five-year-old girl, wearing a dress several sizes  5    large and broken shoes, followed Barrett around, mesmerized(着迷). He couldn’t stop   6  . Later he said    7   . “I wish I could speak French.” I was    8   -this from a boy who hated and    9   French classes at school.
He was usually silent, but he   was friendly to  Gaby, our host, and kept asking questions about the country and its people. He 10  lively.
11    , the moment that really took    12  breath away was in a village deep in the mountains. I was    13    a woman villager for an article. 135 centimeters tall, she was small in figure but strong in    14   . Through determination(决心), she had learned to read and write and    15    to become part of the leadership of the   16   .