1972 Senatorial Democratic Primary Election Results - Georgia
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2009-04-26

Popular Vote
David H. GambrellDemocratic 225,470 31.46%
Sam NunnDemocratic 166,035 23.17%
S. Ernest VandiverDemocratic 147,135 20.53%
Hosea WilliamsDemocratic 46,153 6.44%
J. B. StonerDemocratic 40,675 5.68%
Bill BursonDemocratic 28,566 3.99%
Jack DorseyDemocratic 14,934 2.08%
Wyman C. LoweDemocratic 8,685 1.21%
Lloyd RussellDemocratic 8,658 1.21%
Bill AynesDemocratic 7,072 0.99%
W. M. "Don" WheelerDemocratic 6,922 0.97%
Thomas J. IrwinDemocratic 5,329 0.74%
Austin D. GrahamDemocratic 4,066 0.57%
Darrel W. RunyanDemocratic 3,821 0.53%
Gerry DokkaDemocratic 3,105 0.43%
State Seal Map Key
 > 20%
 > 30%
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1972 Georgia County Map of Democratic Primary Election Results for Senator  
County Button
Pop. (m)
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Demographic Data

1980 Population:5,462,982Enum.1980 Population Density:36.4persons/km2
1972 Population:4,807,151Est.1972 Population Density:32.1persons/km2
1970 Population:4,587,930Enum.1970 Population Density:30.6persons/km2
Land Area (2000):149,976km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:1.8%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Georgia Secretary of State. Georgia Official and Statistical Register, 1971-1972, Georgia Secretary of State (http://statregister.galileo.usg.edu/statregister/view?docId=statregister/stat1971/stat1971-0005.xml) (accessed 25 Apr 2009)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
  • (m)


Appling County Atkinson County Bacon County Baker County Baldwin County Banks County Barrow County Bartow County Ben Hill County Berrien County Bibb County Bleckley County Brantley County Brooks County Bryan County Bulloch County Burke County Butts County Calhoun County Camden County Candler County Carroll County Catoosa County Charlton County Chatham County Chattahoochee County Chattooga County Cherokee County Clarke County Clay County Clayton County Clinch County Cobb County Coffee County Colquitt County Columbia County Cook County Coweta County Crawford County Crisp County Dade County Dawson County Decatur County DeKalb County Dodge County Dooly County Dougherty County Douglas County Early County Echols County Effingham County Elbert County Emanuel County Evans County Fannin County Fayette County Floyd County Forsyth County Franklin County Fulton County Gilmer County Glascock County Glynn County Gordon County Grady County Greene County Gwinnett County Habersham County Hall County Hancock County Haralson County Harris County Hart County Heard County Henry County Houston County Irwin County Jackson County Jasper County Jeff Davis County Jefferson County Jenkins County Johnson County Jones County Lamar County Lanier County Laurens County Lee County Liberty County Lincoln County Long County Lowndes County Lumpkin County McDuffie County McIntosh County Macon County Madison County Marion County Meriwether County Miller County Mitchell County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Murray County Muscogee County Newton County Oconee County Oglethorpe County Paulding County Peach County Pickens County Pierce County Pike County Polk County Pulaski County Putnam County Quitman County Rabun County Randolph County Richmond County Rockdale County Schley County Screven County Seminole County Spalding County Stephens County Stewart County Sumter County Talbot County Taliaferro County Tattnall County Taylor County Telfair County Terrell County Thomas County Tift County Toombs County Towns County Treutlen County Troup County Turner County Twiggs County Union County Upson County Walker County Walton County Ware County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Wheeler County White County Whitfield County Wilcox County Wilkes County Wilkinson County Worth County