Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Vice Presidential
Popular VoteElectoral Vote
Willard Mitt RomneyPaul RyanRepublican 420,911 64.09%4
Barack H. ObamaJoseph R. Biden, Jr.Democratic 212,787 32.40%0
Gary JohnsonJames P. GrayLibertarian 9,453 1.44%0
Write-ins-- 4,418 0.67%0
Jill SteinCheri HonkalaIndependent 4,402 0.67%0
Ross C. 'Rocky' AndersonLuis J. RodriguezIndependent 2,499 0.38%0
Virgil H. Goode, Jr.James N. ClymerConstitution 2,222 0.34%0
YOther (+) - - 50 0.01%0
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
 > 80%
 > 90%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartState Seal
  2012 Idaho County Map of General Election Results for President  
County Button
2000 Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Swing Map Button
Trend Map Button
Election Notes:
  • Official Results do not count any write-in votes for candidates that did not register for qualified write-in status. Officially registered write-in votes as follows: Ronald C. Hobbs 1, Reverend Merepeace-Msmere1, Gerald L. Warner 4, Chance White 4, Santa Claus 12. The write-ins votes listed here were collected from each county official report (incomplete data).
Demographic Data

2012 Population:1,595,910Est.2012 Population Density:7.4persons/km2
2010 Population:1,567,582Enum.2010 Population Density:7.3persons/km2
Total Electoral Vote:4Electoral Vote Density:398,978persons/EV
Land Area (2000):214,314km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.9%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Idaho Secretary of State Election Division. Idaho Election Results 2012 General Election US President, Idaho Secretary of State Election Division ( ) (accessed 25 Nov 2012)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
Primary Documentation:
The 2012 Campaign:

Ada County Adams County Bannock County Bear Lake County Benewah County Bingham County Blaine County Boise County Bonner County Bonneville County Boundary County Butte County Camas County Canyon County Caribou County Cassia County Clark County Clearwater County Custer County Elmore County Franklin County Fremont County Gem County Gooding County Idaho County Jefferson County Jerome County Kootenai County Latah County Lemhi County Lewis County Lincoln County Madison County Minidoka County Nez Perce County Oneida County Owyhee County Payette County Power County Shoshone County Teton County Twin Falls County Valley County Washington County