1986 Senatorial Open Primary Election Results - Louisiana
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by rhenderson on 2007-05-12

Popular Vote
W. Henson MooreRepublican 529,433 44.22%
John B. BreauxDemocratic 447,328 37.36%
Samuel B. (Sammy) NunezDemocratic 73,505 6.14%
J. E. Jumonville, Jr.Democratic 53,394 4.46%
Sherman A. BernardDemocratic 52,479 4.38%
Eli WilliamsDemocratic 7,286 0.61%
Robert H. BriggsDemocratic 6,953 0.58%
Frank J. McTopyIndependent 6,746 0.56%
Fred J. CollinsDemocratic 5,341 0.45%
Johnny H. MyersDemocratic 4,084 0.34%
Ken (Cousin Ken) LewisDemocratic 3,415 0.29%
YOther (+) - 7,277 0.61%
State Seal Map Key
 > 30%
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1986 Louisiana County Map of Open Primary Election Results for Senator  
Parish Button
Pop. (m)
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button

Warning: mysql_result() [function.mysql-result]: pop_1986 not found in MySQL result index 19 in /usr/www/users/leip/RESULTS/state.php on line 2104
Election Notes:
  • Since no candidate won a majority, Moore and Breaux went to a runoff held in November 1986.
  • Plaquemines Parish results computed from differences between LA-SOS tally and OC.com tally.
Demographic Data

1990 Population:4,221,826Enum.1990 Population Density:37.4persons/km2
1986 Population:0Est.1986 Population Density:0.0persons/km2
1980 Population:4,206,116Enum.1980 Population Density:37.3persons/km2
Land Area (2000):112,825km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.0%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Louisiana Secretary of State. Results for Election Date: 9/27/86, Louisiana Secretary of State (http://www.sos.louisiana.gov:8090/cgibin/?rqstyp=elcmp&rqsdta=09278614012601) (accessed 12 May 2007)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual Parish:
  • (m)


Acadia Parish Allen Parish Ascension Parish Assumption Parish Avoyelles Parish Beauregard Parish Bienville Parish Bossier Parish Caddo Parish Calcasieu Parish Caldwell Parish Cameron Parish Catahoula Parish Claiborne Parish Concordia Parish De Soto Parish East Baton Rouge Parish East Carroll Parish East Feliciana Parish Evangeline Parish Franklin Parish Grant Parish Iberia Parish Iberville Parish Jackson Parish Jefferson Parish Jefferson Davis Parish Lafayette Parish Lafourche Parish La Salle Parish Lincoln Parish Livingston Parish Madison Parish Morehouse Parish Natchitoches Parish Orleans Parish Ouachita Parish Plaquemines Parish Pointe Coupee Parish Rapides Parish Red River Parish Richland Parish Sabine Parish St. Bernard Parish St. Charles Parish St. Helena Parish St. James Parish St. John the Baptist Parish St. Landry Parish St. Martin Parish St. Mary Parish St. Tammany Parish Tangipahoa Parish Tensas Parish Terrebonne Parish Union Parish Vermilion Parish Vernon Parish Washington Parish Webster Parish West Baton Rouge Parish West Carroll Parish West Feliciana Parish Winn Parish