2006 Insurance Commissioner Open Primary Election Results - Louisiana
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2007-02-14

* Unofficial Results *

  Insurance Commissioner
Popular Vote
Jim DonelonRepublican 284,281 50.12%
James David CainRepublican 222,732 39.27%
S. B. A. ZaitoonLibertarian 60,182 10.61%
State Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  2006 Louisiana County Map of Open Primary Election Results for Insurance Commissioner  
Parish Button
Pop Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Libertarian Button
Election Notes:
  • This is a special Election to fill the remainer of the term (until January 2008) for Insurance Commissoner. Donelon become Insurance Commissioner in February 2006 upon the resignation of Robert Wooley.
  • Since Donelon won a majority of the vote, no runoff election was held.
Demographic Data

2010 Population:4,533,372Enum.2010 Population Density:40.2persons/km2
2006 Population:4,302,665Est.2006 Population Density:38.1persons/km2
2000 Population:4,468,976Enum.2000 Population Density:39.6persons/km2
Land Area (2000):112,825km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.1%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Louisiana Secretary of State. Election Results by Parish-Official Results for Election Date: 9/30/06, Louisiana Secretary of State (http://elect.ky.gov/NR/rdonlyres/5CA45E22-0D2C-4D92-B79D-16AC4ACDF11E/0/95treasurer.txt) (accessed 14 Feb 2007)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual Parish:


Acadia Parish Allen Parish Ascension Parish Assumption Parish Avoyelles Parish Beauregard Parish Bienville Parish Bossier Parish Caddo Parish Calcasieu Parish Caldwell Parish Cameron Parish Catahoula Parish Claiborne Parish Concordia Parish De Soto Parish East Baton Rouge Parish East Carroll Parish East Feliciana Parish Evangeline Parish Franklin Parish Grant Parish Iberia Parish Iberville Parish Jackson Parish Jefferson Parish Jefferson Davis Parish Lafayette Parish Lafourche Parish La Salle Parish Lincoln Parish Livingston Parish Madison Parish Morehouse Parish Natchitoches Parish Orleans Parish Ouachita Parish Plaquemines Parish Pointe Coupee Parish Rapides Parish Red River Parish Richland Parish Sabine Parish St. Bernard Parish St. Charles Parish St. Helena Parish St. James Parish St. John the Baptist Parish St. Landry Parish St. Martin Parish St. Mary Parish St. Tammany Parish Tangipahoa Parish Tensas Parish Terrebonne Parish Union Parish Vermilion Parish Vernon Parish Washington Parish Webster Parish West Baton Rouge Parish West Carroll Parish West Feliciana Parish Winn Parish