Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Home StatePolitical
Caucus ResultDelegates
Barack ObamaIllinoisDemocratic 2,079 59.30%15 45.5%
Hillary ClintonNew YorkDemocratic 1,397 39.85%9 27.3%
Uncommitted-Democratic 27 0.77%0 0.0%
Other Candidates-Democratic 3 0.09%0 0.0%
YUnallocated - Democratic - -927.3%
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartDelegates Pie Chart
  2008 Maine County Map of Democratic Primary Election Results for President  
County Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Election Information:
Contest Type: Party-run Caucus/Convention
Caucus Date:2008-02-10
Eligible Participants: Closed (only members of the party)
Delegates Awarded in this Contest: 24
Delegates Total: 33
Delegate Allocation Method: Proportional - the candidates are awarded delegates in proportion to the percentage of votes received. A 15% threshold is required to receive delegates.
  • No actual convention delegates are awarded at the caucuses, rather each municipal caucus chooses delegates to attend the State Convention.
  • 8 at-large delegates are allocated during the State Convention on May 31
  • 16 district delegates are allocated during the State Convention on May 31
  • 10 unpledged delegates
    • Congressional District 1: 9 delegates
    • Congressional District 2: 7 delegates
Demographic Data

2010 Population:1,328,361Enum.2010 Population Density:16.6persons/km2
2008 Population:1,330,509Est.2008 Population Density:16.6persons/km2
2000 Population:1,274,923Enum.2000 Population Density:16.0persons/km2
Total Delegates:33.0Delegates Density:40,318persons/Del
Land Area (2000):79,931km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.4%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data:
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:

Androscoggin County Aroostook County Cumberland County Franklin County Hancock County Kennebec County Knox County Lincoln County Oxford County Penobscot County Piscataquis County Sagadahoc County Somerset County Waldo County Washington County York County