1930 Senatorial General Election Results - New Mexico
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2024-05-24

Popular Vote
Sam G. BrattonDemocratic 69,362 58.62%
Herbert B. HoltRepublican 48,699 41.16%
R. B. CochranSocialist 256 0.22%
State Seal Map Key
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
 > 80%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1930 New Mexico County Map of General Election Results for Senator  
County Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Election Notes:
  • Sam Bratton would resign on June 24, 1933 to become a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit. A special election was held in 1934 to fill the vacancy.
  • The 1931-1932 Blue Book gives the total for Cochran as 254 with 0 votes in McKinley County. The handwritten canvass, available at the State Archives and photocopied in New Mexico Election Returns 1911-1969, credits Cochran with 2 votes in McKinley County and 256 statewide. This latter total is also given by the Clerk of the House of Representatives.
Demographic Data

1930 Population:423,317Enum.1930 Population Density:1.3persons/km2
1920 Population:360,350Enum.1920 Population Density:1.1persons/km2
Land Area (2000):314,309km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:1.6%

Election Data and Statistics:
  • County Data (Table) (m)
  • County Data (Graphs) (m)
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: New Mexico Secretary of State, "United States Senator," Canvass of Returns of Election Held November 4, 1930 (Santa Fe, 1930)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
  • (m)


Bernalillo County Catron County Chaves County Colfax County Curry County De Baca County Dona Ana County Eddy County Grant County Guadalupe County Harding County Hidalgo County Lea County Lincoln County Luna County McKinley County Mora County Otero County Quay County Rio Arriba County Roosevelt County Sandoval County San Juan County San Miguel County Santa Fe County Sierra County Socorro County Taos County Torrance County Union County Valencia County