2000 Initiative General Election Results - Oregon
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by Z on 2007-05-12

  Initiative: Measure 87 (Regulation of "Sexually Oriented Businesses")Popular Vote
No 771,901 52.64%
Yes 694,410 47.36%
State Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  2000 Oregon County Map of General Election Results for Initiative  
County Button
Pop Button
Per Vote  Button
Per Vote  Button
Election Notes:
  • Ballot Measure 87 would remove the limitations that the state constitutional right of free expression (Article 1, Section 8) places on the authority of a local government. It would allow local governments to specially zone the location of sexually oriented businesses without showing any threatened or actual harm, to the extent that the United States Constitution permits. The "sexually oriented businesses" covered by Ballot Measure 87 are those whose "principal business" is: nude dancing; nude entertainment; or the production, distribution or display of representations of sexual activity.
Demographic Data

2000 Population:3,421,399Enum.2000 Population Density:13.8persons/km2
1990 Population:2,842,337Enum.1990 Population Density:11.4persons/km2
Land Area (2000):248,631km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:1.9%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Oregon Secretary of State. November 7, 2000 General Election, Oregon Secretary of State (http://www.sos.state.or.us/elections/nov72000/other.info/m87.htm) (accessed 11 May 2007)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:


Baker County Benton County Clackamas County Clatsop County Columbia County Coos County Crook County Curry County Deschutes County Douglas County Gilliam County Grant County Harney County Hood River County Jackson County Jefferson County Josephine County Klamath County Lake County Lane County Lincoln County Linn County Malheur County Marion County Morrow County Multnomah County Polk County Sherman County Tillamook County Umatilla County Union County Wallowa County Wasco County Washington County Wheeler County Yamhill County