1912 Gubernatorial General Election Results - West Virginia
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2010-03-31

Popular Vote
Henry D. HatfieldRepublican 128,062 47.74%
W. R. ThompsonDemocratic 119,292 44.47%
Walter B. HiltonSocialist 15,051 5.61%
Goodloe JacksonProhibition 5,870 2.19%
State Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1912 West Virginia County Map of General Election Results for Governor  
County Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Socialist Button
Demographic Data

1920 Population:1,463,701Enum.1920 Population Density:23.5persons/km2
1910 Population:1,221,119Enum.1910 Population Density:19.6persons/km2
Land Area (2000):62,361km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:1.8%

Election Data and Statistics:
  • County Data (Table) (m)
  • County Data (Graphs) (m)
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: West Virginia Secretary of State. West Virginia Legislative Handbook and Manual and Official Register, 1917, West Virginia Secretary of State (http://books.google.com/books?id=qFQNAAAAIAAJ&pg=PA257&dq=new+mexico+blue+book&lr=&as_brr=1&cd=28#v=onepage&q=&f=false) (accessed 31 Mar 2010)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
  • (m)


Barbour County Berkeley County Boone County Braxton County Brooke County Cabell County Calhoun County Clay County Doddridge County Fayette County Gilmer County Grant County Greenbrier County Hampshire County Hancock County Hardy County Harrison County Jackson County Jefferson County Kanawha County Lewis County Lincoln County Logan County McDowell County Marion County Marshall County Mason County Mercer County Mineral County Mingo County Monongalia County Monroe County Morgan County Nicholas County Ohio County Pendleton County Pleasants County Pocahontas County Preston County Putnam County Raleigh County Randolph County Ritchie County Roane County Summers County Taylor County Tucker County Tyler County Upshur County Wayne County Webster County Wetzel County Wirt County Wood County Wyoming County