2000 Presidential General Election Results - North Dakota
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Vice Presidential
Popular VoteElectoral Vote
George W. BushRichard CheneyRepublican 174,852 60.66%3
Albert Gore Jr.Joseph LiebermanDemocratic-N.P.L. 95,284 33.05%0
Ralph NaderWinona LaDukeIndependent 9,497 3.29%0
Patrick BuchananEzola FosterReform 7,288 2.53%0
YOther (+) - - 1,346 0.47%0
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartState Seal
  2000 North Dakota County Map of General Election Results for President  
County Button
2000 Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Democratic-N.P.L. Button
Swing Map Button
Trend Map Button
Election Notes:
  • Gore party was listed on the ballot as Democratic-Non-Partisan League
  • Data includes corrected vote for Nader from the county precinct canvass in McIntosh County (to 36 from 25).
Demographic Data

2000 Population:642,200Enum.2000 Population Density:3.6persons/km2
1990 Population:638,800Enum.1990 Population Density:3.6persons/km2
Total Electoral Vote:3Electoral Vote Density:214,067persons/EV
Land Area (2000):178,647km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.1%

Presidential Electors:
Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: North Dakota Secretary of State, North Dakota's Official Abstract of Votes Cast at the General Election Held on November 7, 2000 (Bismarck, 2000)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
Primary Documentation:
  • 2000 Certificate of Ascertainment (m)
  • 2000 Certificate of Vote (m)

Adams County Barnes County Benson County Billings County Bottineau County Bowman County Burke County Burleigh County Cass County Cavalier County Dickey County Divide County Dunn County Eddy County Emmons County Foster County Golden Valley County Grand Forks County Grant County Griggs County Hettinger County Kidder County LaMoure County Logan County McHenry County McIntosh County McKenzie County McLean County Mercer County Morton County Mountrail County Nelson County Oliver County Pembina County Pierce County Ramsey County Ransom County Renville County Richland County Rolette County Sargent County Sheridan County Sioux County Slope County Stark County Steele County Stutsman County Towner County Traill County Walsh County Ward County Wells County Williams County