Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Home StatePolitical
Primary VoteDelegates
Barack ObamaIllinoisDemocratic 265,502 61.15%20 50.0%
Hillary ClintonNew YorkDemocratic 159,221 36.67%13 32.5%
John EdwardsNorth CarolinaDemocratic 3,933 0.91%0 0.0%
Joe BidenDelawareDemocratic 1,816 0.42%0 0.0%
Bill RichardsonNew MexicoDemocratic 1,396 0.32%0 0.0%
YOther (+) - Democratic 2,284 0.53%00%
YUnallocated - Democratic - -717.5%
Seal Map Key
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
 > 80%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartDelegates Pie Chart
  2008 Mississippi County Map of Democratic Primary Election Results for President  
County Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Election Information:
Contest Type: State-run Primary
Election Date:2008-03-11
Eligible Participants: Open (all voters)
Delegates Awarded in this Contest: 33
Delegates Total: 40
Delegate Allocation Method: Proportional - the candidates are awarded delegates in proportion to the percentage of votes received. A 15% threshold is required to receive delegates.
  • 11 at-large delegates
  • 22 district delegates
  • 7 unpledged delegates
    • Congressional District 1: 5 delegates
    • Congressional District 2: 7 delegates
    • Congressional District 3: 5 delegates
    • Congressional District 4: 5 delegates
Demographic Data

2010 Population:2,967,297Enum.2010 Population Density:24.4persons/km2
2008 Population:2,947,806Est.2008 Population Density:24.3persons/km2
2000 Population:2,844,658Enum.2000 Population Density:23.4persons/km2
Total Delegates:40.0Delegates Density:73,695persons/Del
Land Area (2000):121,488km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.4%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data:
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:

Adams County Alcorn County Amite County Attala County Benton County Bolivar County Calhoun County Carroll County Chickasaw County Choctaw County Claiborne County Clarke County Clay County Coahoma County Copiah County Covington County DeSoto County Forrest County Franklin County George County Greene County Grenada County Hancock County Harrison County Hinds County Holmes County Humphreys County Issaquena County Itawamba County Jackson County Jasper County Jefferson County Jefferson Davis County Jones County Kemper County Lafayette County Lamar County Lauderdale County Lawrence County Leake County Lee County Leflore County Lincoln County Lowndes County Madison County Marion County Marshall County Monroe County Montgomery County Neshoba County Newton County Noxubee County Oktibbeha County Panola County Pearl River County Perry County Pike County Pontotoc County Prentiss County Quitman County Rankin County Scott County Sharkey County Simpson County Smith County Stone County Sunflower County Tallahatchie County Tate County Tippah County Tishomingo County Tunica County Union County Walthall County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Wilkinson County Winston County Yalobusha County Yazoo County