2008 Presidential General Election Results - Des Moines County, IA
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Vice Presidential
Popular Vote
Barack H. ObamaJoseph R. Biden, Jr.Democratic 12,462 60.57%
John S. McCain, IIISarah PalinRepublican 7,721 37.53%
Ralph NaderMatt GonzalezPeace and Freedom 135 0.66%
Write-ins-- 124 0.60%
Bob BarrWayne A. RootLibertarian 47 0.23%
Charles O. BaldwinDarrell L. CastleConstitution 47 0.23%
Cynthia A. McKinneyRosa A. ClementeGreen 30 0.15%
Róger CaleroAlyson KennedySocialist Workers 4 0.02%
Brian MooreStewart A. AlexanderSocialist 3 0.01%
Gloria LaRivaRobert MosesSocialism and Liberation 1 0.00%
Demographic Data

2010 Population:40,325Enum.2010 Population Density:37.4persons/km2
2008 Population:40,235Est.2008 Population Density:37.3persons/km2
2000 Population:42,351Enum.2000 Population Density:39.3persons/km2
Land Area (2000):1,078km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:-0.5%

Data and Statistics:
  • No data presently available
  • Compare County Data by Year (Table) (m)
  • Compare County Data by Year (Graphs) (m)
Election Notes:
  • James Harris appeared on the ballot as a stand-in candidate for Róger Calero

National Results for 2008 - Iowa Results for 2008 - Use Frame Navigation


Terms of Use - DCMA Policy - Privacy Policy and Cookies

© Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Elections, LLC 2019 All Rights Reserved