1971 Gubernatorial Democratic Primary Election Results - Louisiana
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2017-06-18

Popular Vote
Edwin W. EdwardsDemocratic 276,347 23.55%
J. Bennett JohnstonDemocratic 208,330 17.76%
Gillis W. LongDemocratic 164,257 14.00%
Jimmie H. DavisDemocratic 138,788 11.83%
John G. SchwegmannDemocratic 91,974 7.84%
C. C. AycockDemocratic 88,465 7.54%
Samuel BellDemocratic 72,486 6.18%
Speedy O. LongDemocratic 61,359 5.23%
Frank T. SalterDemocratic 32,203 2.74%
James W. MooreDemocratic 9,408 0.80%
Warren J. MoityDemocratic 8,965 0.76%
OthersDemocratic 8,668 0.74%
David L. ChandlerDemocratic 7,244 0.62%
Huey P. ColemanDemocratic 4,833 0.41%
State Seal Map Key
 > 20%
 > 30%
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1971 Louisiana County Map of Democratic Primary Election Results for Governor  
Parish Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Demographic Data

1980 Population:4,206,116Enum.1980 Population Density:37.3persons/km2
1971 Population:0Est.1971 Population Density:0.0persons/km2
1970 Population:3,644,637Enum.1970 Population Density:32.3persons/km2
Land Area (2000):112,825km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:1.4%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: LA Secretary of State, DEMOCRATIC PRIMARY ELECTION NOVEMBER 6, 1971 (Baton Rouge, 1971)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual Parish:
  • (m)


Acadia Parish Allen Parish Ascension Parish Assumption Parish Avoyelles Parish Beauregard Parish Bienville Parish Bossier Parish Caddo Parish Calcasieu Parish Caldwell Parish Cameron Parish Catahoula Parish Claiborne Parish Concordia Parish De Soto Parish East Baton Rouge Parish East Carroll Parish East Feliciana Parish Evangeline Parish Franklin Parish Grant Parish Iberia Parish Iberville Parish Jackson Parish Jefferson Parish Jefferson Davis Parish Lafayette Parish Lafourche Parish La Salle Parish Lincoln Parish Livingston Parish Madison Parish Morehouse Parish Natchitoches Parish Orleans Parish Ouachita Parish Plaquemines Parish Pointe Coupee Parish Rapides Parish Red River Parish Richland Parish Sabine Parish St. Bernard Parish St. Charles Parish St. Helena Parish St. James Parish St. John the Baptist Parish St. Landry Parish St. Martin Parish St. Mary Parish St. Tammany Parish Tangipahoa Parish Tensas Parish Terrebonne Parish Union Parish Vermilion Parish Vernon Parish Washington Parish Webster Parish West Baton Rouge Parish West Carroll Parish West Feliciana Parish Winn Parish