1908 Presidential General Election Results - Indiana
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Vice Presidential
Popular VoteElectoral Vote
William TaftJames ShermanRepublican 348,993 48.40%15
William BryanJohn KernDemocrat 338,262 46.91%0
Eugene ChafinAaron WatkinsProhibition 18,045 2.50%0
Eugene DebsBenjamin HanfordSocialist 13,476 1.87%0
YOther (+) - - 2,350 0.33%0
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartState Seal
MapsCounty Map (m)
County Button
Demographic Data

1910 Population:2,700,876Enum.1910 Population Density:29.1persons/km2
1900 Population:2,516,462Enum.1900 Population Density:27.1persons/km2
Total Electoral Vote:15
Land Area (2000):92,895km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.7%

Election Data and Statistics:
  • County Data (Table) (m)
  • County Data (Graphs) (m)
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Indiana Secretary of State, "Vote by Counties for Presidential Electors First Elector," Biennial Report of Fred A. Sims Secretary of State of the State of Indiana for the Fiscal Term Ending September 30, 1908 (Indianapolis, 1908)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
  • (m)