Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Vice Presidential
Popular VoteElectoral Vote
John S. McCain, IIISarah PalinRepublican 724,597 56.17%6
Barack H. ObamaJoseph R. Biden, Jr.Democratic 554,662 43.00%0
Ralph NaderMatt GonzalezIndependent 4,011 0.31%0
Charles O. BaldwinDarrell L. CastleConstitution 2,551 0.20%0
Bob BarrWayne A. RootLibertarian 2,529 0.20%0
Cynthia A. McKinneyRosa A. ClementeGreen 1,034 0.08%0
Ted C. WeillFrank McEnultyReform 481 0.04%0
Write-ins-- 74 0.01%0
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
 > 80%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartState Seal
Maps2008 Mississippi County Map of General Election Results for President
County Button
2000 Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Swing Map Button
Trend Map Button
Election Notes:
  • Results include an incomplete write-in vote tally collected from county election agencies that are not reported in statwide results.
Demographic Data

2010 Population:2,967,297Enum.2010 Population Density:24.4persons/km2
2008 Population:2,947,806Est.2008 Population Density:24.3persons/km2
2000 Population:2,844,658Enum.2000 Population Density:23.4persons/km2
Total Electoral Vote:6Electoral Vote Density:491,301persons/EV
Land Area (2000):121,488km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.4%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Mississippi Secretary of State. Total Votes Reported by County for the 2008 General Election President and Vice President, Mississippi Secretary of State ( ) (accessed 05 Dec 2008)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
Primary Documentation:
The 2008 Campaign: