1991 Gubernatorial Open Primary Election Results - Louisiana
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2007-01-14

Popular Vote
Edwin EdwardsDemocratic 523,195 33.77%
David DukeRepublican 491,342 31.71%
Buddy RoemerRepublican 410,690 26.51%
Clyde HollowayRepublican 82,683 5.34%
Sam JonesDemocratic 11,847 0.76%
Ed KarstOther 9,663 0.62%
Fred DentDemocratic 7,385 0.48%
Anne ThompsonRepublican 4,118 0.27%
Jim CrowleyDemocratic 4,000 0.26%
YOther (+) - 4,431 0.29%
State Seal Map Key
 > 30%
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1991 Louisiana County Map of Open Primary Election Results for Governor  
Parish Button
Pop. (m)
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Election Notes:
  • Since no candidate won a majority of the vote, Edwards and Duke went to a runoff
Demographic Data

2000 Population:4,468,976Enum.2000 Population Density:39.6persons/km2
1991 Population:4,253,279Est.1991 Population Density:37.7persons/km2
1990 Population:4,221,826Enum.1990 Population Density:37.4persons/km2
Land Area (2000):112,825km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.6%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Louisiana Secretary of State. Official Election Results, Results for Election Date: 10/19/91, Louisiana Secretary of State (http://www.sos.louisiana.gov:8090/cgibin/?rqstyp=elcmp&rqsdta=10199110012919) (accessed 14 Jan 2007)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual Parish:
  • (m)


Acadia Parish Allen Parish Ascension Parish Assumption Parish Avoyelles Parish Beauregard Parish Bienville Parish Bossier Parish Caddo Parish Calcasieu Parish Caldwell Parish Cameron Parish Catahoula Parish Claiborne Parish Concordia Parish De Soto Parish East Baton Rouge Parish East Carroll Parish East Feliciana Parish Evangeline Parish Franklin Parish Grant Parish Iberia Parish Iberville Parish Jackson Parish Jefferson Parish Jefferson Davis Parish Lafayette Parish Lafourche Parish La Salle Parish Lincoln Parish Livingston Parish Madison Parish Morehouse Parish Natchitoches Parish Orleans Parish Ouachita Parish Plaquemines Parish Pointe Coupee Parish Rapides Parish Red River Parish Richland Parish Sabine Parish St. Bernard Parish St. Charles Parish St. Helena Parish St. James Parish St. John the Baptist Parish St. Landry Parish St. Martin Parish St. Mary Parish St. Tammany Parish Tangipahoa Parish Tensas Parish Terrebonne Parish Union Parish Vermilion Parish Vernon Parish Washington Parish Webster Parish West Baton Rouge Parish West Carroll Parish West Feliciana Parish Winn Parish