1995 Senatorial Special Election Results - Oregon
Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Data for this Contest was Contributed by on 2007-01-05

Popular Vote
Ron WydenDemocratic 212,532 49.72%
Peter DeFazioDemocratic 187,411 43.84%
Anna NevenichDemocratic 11,201 2.62%
Michael DonnellyDemocratic 8,340 1.95%
MiscellaneousDemocratic 5,680 1.33%
J.J.T. Van DooremolenDemocratic 2,279 0.53%
State Seal Map Key
 > 30%
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
 > 80%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie Chart
  1995 Oregon County Map of Special Election Results for Senator  
County Button
Pop. (m)
Per Vote Democratic Button
Per Vote Democratic Button
Election Notes:
  • Special Senate Primary: Held on Dec. 5, 1995
  • Special Senate General Election [to replace resigning Senator Packwood]: Held Jan. 30, 1996
Demographic Data

2000 Population:3,421,399Enum.2000 Population Density:13.8persons/km2
1995 Population:3,184,369Est.1995 Population Density:12.8persons/km2
1990 Population:2,842,337Enum.1990 Population Density:11.4persons/km2
Land Area (2000):248,631km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:1.9%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data: Oregon Secretary of State. Official Results- Special U.S. Senate Primary- December 5, 1995- Democrat, Oregon Secretary of State (http://www.sos.state.or.us/elections/dec595/other.info/demores.htm) (accessed 05 Jan 2007)
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:
  • (m)


Baker County Benton County Clackamas County Clatsop County Columbia County Coos County Crook County Curry County Deschutes County Douglas County Gilliam County Grant County Harney County Hood River County Jackson County Jefferson County Josephine County Klamath County Lake County Lane County Lincoln County Linn County Malheur County Marion County Morrow County Multnomah County Polk County Sherman County Tillamook County Umatilla County Union County Wallowa County Wasco County Washington County Wheeler County Yamhill County