Note: The Google advertisement links below may advocate political positions that this site does not endorse.
Home StatePolitical
Primary VoteDelegates
Mike HuckabeeArkansasRepublican 138,557 60.46%29 85.3%
John McCainArizonaRepublican 46,343 20.22%1 2.9%
Mitt RomneyMassachusettsRepublican 30,997 13.53%1 2.9%
Ron PaulTexasRepublican 10,983 4.79%0 0.0%
Uncommitted-Republican 987 0.43%0 0.0%
Rudolph W. GiulianiNew YorkRepublican 658 0.29%0 0.0%
Fred ThompsonTennesseeRepublican 628 0.27%0 0.0%
YUnallocated - Republican - -38.8%
Seal Map Key
 > 40%
 > 50%
 > 60%
 > 70%
Voter Turnout Graph
Vote Pie ChartDelegates Pie Chart
  2008 Arkansas County Map of Republican Primary Election Results for President  
County Button
Pop Button
Cong Dist Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Per Vote Republican Button
Election Information:
Contest Type: State-run Primary
Election Date:2008-02-05
Eligible Participants: Open (all voters)
Delegates Awarded in this Contest: 31
Delegates Total: 34
Delegate Allocation Method: Proportional A 20% threshold is required to receive delegates.
  • 19 at-large delegates: each candidate receiving at least 10% of the vote is awarded one delegate. If a candidate receives a majority of the vote, that candidate is awarded the remaining delegates. If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, the remaining at-large delgates are allocated proportionally amongst the top three candidates. A 10% minimum threshold is required to receive proportionally-allocated at-large delegates.
  • 12 district delegates (3 for each of the 4 congressional districts): In each district, if a candidate receives a majority of the vote, that candidate is awarded all three delegates. If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, then the candidate receiving a plurality of the vote is awarded two delegates and the candidate with the next highest number of votes is awarded one delegate.
Demographic Data

2010 Population:2,915,918Enum.2010 Population Density:21.6persons/km2
2008 Population:2,874,554Est.2008 Population Density:21.3persons/km2
2000 Population:2,673,400Enum.2000 Population Density:19.8persons/km2
Total Delegates:34Delegates Density:84,546persons/Del
Land Area (2000):134,856km2Annual Pop Growth Rate:0.9%

Election Data and Statistics:
Election Tools
Data Sources:
  • Source for Popular Vote data:
  • Source for Population data: U.S. Census Bureau.
Results for and Individual County:

Arkansas County Ashley County Baxter County Benton County Boone County Bradley County Calhoun County Carroll County Chicot County Clark County Clay County Cleburne County Cleveland County Columbia County Conway County Craighead County Crawford County Crittenden County Cross County Dallas County Desha County Drew County Faulkner County Franklin County Fulton County Garland County Grant County Greene County Hempstead County Hot Spring County Howard County Independence County Izard County Jackson County Jefferson County Johnson County Lafayette County Lawrence County Lee County Lincoln County Little River County Logan County Lonoke County Madison County Marion County Miller County Mississippi County Monroe County Montgomery County Nevada County Newton County Ouachita County Perry County Phillips County Pike County Poinsett County Polk County Pope County Prairie County Pulaski County Randolph County St. Francis County Saline County Scott County Searcy County Sebastian County Sevier County Sharp County Stone County Union County Van Buren County Washington County White County Woodruff County Yell County